Miami football record win streak remains intact with UGA loss to Alabama

The win by Alabama over Georgia in the SEC Championship game on Saturday night kept the record-setting 34-game win streak by the Miami football program intact. Miami won 34 straight games from 2000 through 2002. The 34 straight wins by Miami from 2000-2002 are the most in college football since 1971.

Oklahoma holds the record with 47 straight wins from 1953 through 1957. Washington has the second-longest streak of 40 games from 1908–1914, Toledo is third with a 35-game win streak from 1969–1971. The Miami football team won 40 straight regular-season games from the 2000 through 2003 seasons.

The loss by Georgia to Alabama ended a 29-game winning streak by the Bulldogs. Georgia’s winning streak is the second longest of the 21st century and tied for ninth all-time with four other teams including Miami. Alabama ended Miami’s 29-game winning streak in the 1993 Sugar Bowl which was the National Championship Game.

Florida State and Alabama also had 29-game winning streaks in the 21st century. Florida State won 29 consecutive games from 2012–2014 and Clemson from 2018–2019. Alabama is the only other program to win 25 straight games against a Power Conference schedule in the 21st Century.

The Crimson Tide won 26 consecutive games from 2015–2016. The 26-game Alabama winning streak ended with a loss to Clemson in the National Championship Game. Clemson lost to Alabama in the National Championship game the previous season. Alabama beat Georgia for the National Championship a year later.

Georgia is the only team among those with a 26-game, 21st-century winning streak to win two National Championships. Bulldogs’ head coach Kirby Smart has put Georgia on equal footing with Alabama as the dominant team in college football replacing Clemson. Miami’s streak transcended one head coach.

Nick Saban led Alabama during their streak, Jimbo Fisher Florida State, Dabo Swinney Clemson and Smart, Georgia. Butch Davis led Miami to the first 10 wins of its historic streak. The Hurricanes finished the 2000 season 11-1. Miami won 10 straight after losing its second game of the 2000 season at Washington.

Miami finished the 2001 season 12-0 after defeating Nebraska in the 2002 Orange Bowl. Miami went 1w-0 during the 2002 regular season before the winning streak ended in the 2003 Fiesta Bowl to Ohio State. Larry Coker led Miami to the final 24 wins in the streak and set the best record to begin a career as a head coach.

Source link